Video and Media Art Festival: The Theme 2018

“MY NEW ME”

The world is in motion and with this so are people, too. A trivial insight perhaps, but the fact itself repeatedly poses challenges to both individuals and entire societies.

Today, in the age of digitization and globalization, change is more present than it has been since industrialization. This is reflected in all the various sides to everyday life. The ego and its manifestations play a central role in this regard. This was the underlying idea that prompted us to choose the title “My New Ego” for vkunst frankfurt in 2018.

The selfie has emerged as the current age’s omnipresent means of expression. Here, the Ego becomes a project you can design. Key aspects here include Instagram, self- optimization, Narcissism, not to mention an awareness of one’s own life. On the other hand, millions of people are currently leaving their customary surroundings, be it owing to war or economic pressures, relocating to different countries and cities, and are suddenly confronted with a radically changed biography. Integration into new cultures always spells a change of identity. Adaptation is change.

All of that played a role in our decision, and we waited with joyful excitement to see what entries floated in from all over the world addressing the topic. In fact, more than 400 artists have kindly given us an insight into their ideas of a new Ego. And from this ood of entries, after much debate we managed to select slightly more than 20 contributions for the exhibition.

Moreover, we decided that to mark the 10th year of vkunst frankfurt we would launch a separate section entitled “We like it!”. Here, we are presenting 15 artistic works from ten years of vkunst frankfurt, ones that have grown very close to our hearts and which we want in this way to enable our visitors to view once again.

We most especially wish to thank all the artists who sent us entries. We would gladly have displayed far more art than there is space. We are most grateful in this context to the many hosts and supporters of vkunst frankfurt. Without the gallerists and store owners who have made their premises available to us there would simply be no vkunst. We would likewise like to thank the City of Frankfurt and Stiftung Kunstfonds and not least Jochen Latz, who has for the fourth time substantially supported the project by providing the vkunst Award.

Our thanks go to the jury for selecting the prize winner. Grit Weber (Museum Ange- wandte Kunst, Frankfurt), Peter Gorschlüter (MMK, Frankfurt) and Stefan Trinks (FAZ, Frankfurt) were the experts who took the decision on who would be awarded the prize.

Christoph von Löw and Andreas Greulich

May 2018

Video- und Medienkunst Festival: Das Thema 2018

„Mein neues Ich“

Die Welt ist in Bewegung und die Menschen mit ihr. Eine banale Erkenntnis, die den Einzelnen wie ganze Gesellschaften immer wieder vor Herausforderungen stellt.

Heute, im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung und Globalisierung, ist Veränderung so präsent wie seit der Industrialisierung nicht mehr. Dies spiegelt sich in den verschiedensten Aspekten des Alltäglichen wider. Das Ich und seine Manifestation spielen dabei eine zentrale Rolle. Dies war die Grundidee, die uns dazu bewogen hat, vkunst frankfurt im Jahr 2018 unter den Titel „Mein neues Ich“ zu stellen.

Das Selfie ist zum omnipräsenten Ausdrucksmittel unserer Zeit geworden. Das Ich wird zum gestaltbaren Projekt. Instagram, Selbstoptimierung, Narzissmus, aber auch das Bewusstsein des eigenen Lebens sind hier zu nennen. Auf der anderen Seite verlassen heute Millionen Menschen ihre gewohnte Umgebung – sei es durch Krieg oder wirtschaftliche Not –, ziehen in andere Länder und Städte und sind plötzlich mit der sich radikal veränderten eigenen Biographie konfrontiert. Die Integration in neue Kulturen ist immer auch eine Veränderung der Identität. Anpassung ist Veränderung.

Mit Spannung und Freude haben wir auf die Einreichungen aus der ganzen Welt zu dem gestellten Thema gewartet. Mehr als 400 Künstler haben uns teilhaben lassen an ihren Ideen zum neuen Ich. Aus diesen Einreichungen haben wir nach langem Ringen letztendlich etwas mehr als zwanzig Beiträge für die Ausstellung ausgewählt.

Darüber hinaus haben wir uns entschlossen, im zehnten Jahr von vkunst frankfurt die separate Sektion „We like it!“ einzuführen. Hier zeigen wir fünfzehn künstlerische Arbeiten aus zehn Jahren vkunst frankfurt, die uns am Herzen liegen und die wir unseren Besuchern noch einmal zeigen möchten.

Ganz besonders möchten wir allen KünstlerInnen danken, die uns ihre Arbeiten eingereicht haben. Gerne hätten wir viel mehr Kunst gezeigt, als uns möglich ist. Wir danken herzlich den vielen GastgeberInnen und UnterstützerInnen von vkunst frankfurt. Ohne die GaleristInnen und LadeninhaberInnen, die uns ihre Räume zur Verfügung gestellt haben, könnte vkunst gar nicht stattfinden. Wir danken der Stadt Frankfurt und der Stiftung Kunstfonds und nicht zuletzt Jochen Latz, der das Projekt bereits zum vierten Mal mit der Stiftung des vkunst Preises wesentlich fördert.
Für die Vergabe des Preises sei der Jury gedankt. Grit Weber (Museum Angewandte Kunst, Frankfurt), Peter Gorschlüter (MMK, Frankfurt) und Stefan Trinks (FAZ, Frankfurt) haben uns fachkundig die Entscheidung der Preisvergabe abgenommen.

Christoph von Löw, Andreas Greulich
Mai 2018